Friday, June 16, 2006
That Mother Fucker!
About a week ago my car broke down. It started squeeling, the power steering went out, and it over heated. It's been sitting at my work and I've been driving my cute b.f.'s truck.. No problem.. This week I decide that I should probably be proactive and look into getting it fixed.
I call up a guy that has done work on my car before. Changed my breaks, oil etc.. Now, this guy isin't some Joe-Blow that I don't know either. He's the brother from another mother of a very good friend of mine. He apparently doesn't have a car and suggests that (since I shouldn't be driving my car) that I come pick him up, and he'll just fix it at my work. GREAT, I can do that!
He tells me it shouldn't take more than 20 or so minutes and wthat it won't cost me more than $15.00 or $20.00..GREAT, this is a fucking deal!!
SO.... After a very long day at work yesterday I drive (in traffic @5pm) across town to pick him up. He tells me the total cost will be $80.00... "That's including the cost of the belt", He assures me.
I'm like......hmm... OK. This is a guy I want to give my money AND my business too.. I suppose if he wants to make $50.00 for doing this I shouldn't really mind paying him that. If this is the only thing I really have to do to get it fixed I will go ahead and pay it.
Well, OF COURSE! there is something else going on. He puts on the belt, it doesn't work, so now he wants me to have my car towed over to his shop so he can look at it further. He doesn't have a tow truck, but he can recommend another, "really good guy" to come and pick it up for me for right around $50.00.
The cincher is that he thinks I'm a fucking idiot. You see I'm not some dumb bitch that doesn't do her research. I called around BEFORE I even called him and found out the cost of this fucking belt and how much it would cost me *aprox* to get this problem fixed. (which, BTW is $32.99-$36.99, for the belt for us normal folk walking into Schucks requesting it)
I drive him BACK to the fucking shop, drop him off, he gives me the name of the guy and says he'll look for my car tomorrow..
Last night I couldn't sleep cause I keep mulling it over in my mind. I'm tossing and turning trying to figure out a way that I can diplomatically explain to this guy that I think he over charged me.
I get to work this morning and give him a call.... This is how the conversation went:
ME: Hey, Joe Blow. I've been thinking about this all night. You told me that you would only charge me $15.00 or $20.00 bucks to put that belt on. BTW, How much did you spend specifically on the belt? JOEBLOW: OH.. uhh.... $50.00...... You know it goes all the way around the engine... It keeps all that stuff running.... **** It's a fucking Serpintine belt, like I have no idea how a fucking engine works*****
ME: HUH. You sure did get ripped off. I called Schucks and they told me it only cost $32.99.
JOEBLOW: Well, you know some times I get deals .. Sometimes I don't...What do you want me to do?
ME: FUCK THIS
I guess what it is, is the whole principle of the thing. He tells me one thing and then once it all goes down, he shits all over me.. When I called him back AGAIN and told him AGAIN that I thought I was getting screwed.. he says to me that his shop (this is HIS business BTW) charges $50.00 for the belt.. And why am I bitching at him for charging $30.00 (labor)?? He's gotta make a buck some where...AND he took time out of HIS day to come and "do me a favor".. *** If it were legal to kill, he just made my ficking list****
I mean, I guess it meant nothing to him that I spent aprox..$20-$30.00 in gas to pick his sorry ass up (in fucking traffic).. He was a fucking DICK to me from the moment he found out that I was driving my B.F.'s truck..( I mean I know he harbors a secret desire to fuck me and by fixing my car he hopes someday I'll let him) AND I grossly over paid him to do a job that I could and should have just done my self.
(I don't like getting dirty)
NOt to mention the fact that I OFFERED to buy the fucking belt MYSELF and just pay him the labor..
But NO. He assured me it would be no trouble for him to get it.
(Which I must reitterate) he told me my would be $15-$20.00 dollars for labor + the cost of the belt.
Well.. Needless to say. I called back one of the shops I had spoken with earlier.. They immediatly came to tow my truck..(at no charge) and they will be fixing the problem.
At that point I decided I would go and cancle the check I gave him, but NOOOOOoo.. He had already cashed it! Big fucking surprize there, eh?
For someone with NO CAR he sure got him self to the bank in a big hurry..
Ah well.. It just goes to show..
Don't EVER do business with friends... Cause when it's good, it's good..But when it's bad, it's REALLLLL bad..
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
You know if you would have just put out you could have gotten all the work done for free. What is the matter with you………. If you would have given him a blow job it would have only been discounted by 50%.
I quit doing that years ago. Damn it!
Post a Comment